First Post: Introducing Me

Meet the newest book blogger on the scene.

Hello my darlin’s!

My name is Ali, and welcome to My Literary Disposition, my first(ish) book blog! (I say “ish” because I’ve tried to start one before but did not get very far — this time I’m planning to make it stick.)

I’ll keep this introduction post short, because what I know what I, and y’all, are really here for: the bookish content. That will be coming very shortly!

I’m a twenty-something American gal (she/her/hers), presently in my senior year of my undergraduate studies. I’ve been an avid reader all my life: when I was four years old and my brother was six, in kindergarten, and learning to read, I was immediately envious and began to teach myself to read alongside him (with the commanded help and support of my darling parents and grandmother, who would sit patiently as I would read aloud to them, taking hours to finish a book because I resolutely started every page I made a mistake on back over from the beginning). By the time I myself entered kindergarten I was reading chapter books, and even had to be assigned a higher-grade Reading Buddy than the usual 3rd grader because I was reading to them instead of the other way around (though even with my fifth grade partner I did most of the reading — has my persistent, determined personality revealed itself yet?). By the end of the year I had “auditioned” for my teacher and during read aloud times I was the one sitting in the rocking chair reading Junie B. Jones to my classmates while my teacher got to sit at her desk and catch up on emails. I loved it more than anything.

By fourth grade I kept a constant stack of at least five books by my desk at all times, and spent a number of months carrying the entire Harry Potter series around with my in my backpack — some kids had a comfort plushie, while I had a comfort book collection. My love of reading carried on all throughout my K-12 education, including helping me through some incredibly difficult times with mental illness struggles, and connecting me to some of the most wonderful friends I could’ve asked for. I ended high school as book club president and with a room in which books made up most of the decor.

In college my reading has dropped off a bit, especially at first as I adjusted to the rigor of a demanding liberal arts education; in my Texas public schools academics always came very easily to me, so the adjustment to the genuine intellectual challenges of university, while welcomed, took some time. I also became highly involved in campus life and internships as well as my academics, so I didn’t have a whole lot of time left over for reading for pleasure, though I still managed to fit it in some. This past year or so, though, I’ve really dived back into reading, making it a priority in my life again, and have been so glad I’ve done so. In the process of rediscovering my love of literature I also found myself exploring the worlds of Bookstagram and BookTok, which has been so much fun and contributed to an infinitely-growing TBR list (I have no regrets). I was inspired to start my own book-oriented Instagram account at the beginning of this year, and, though I’ve been sometimes inconsistent in my engagement with it, have really enjoyed exploring the realm of bookish content creation. Now I’m wanting to dive a little bit further and get to engage a little more deeply with books and people in the online sphere, and so comes the birth of the My Literary Disposition book blog.

I hope to here express all the bookish ponderings and experiences of my mind, including book reviews, recommendations, viral tags, as well as include some academic content such as the experience of writing my thesis this spring, study motivation and inspiration, and the excitements and challenges of graduating college and considering what future studies may come next (more on that in a future post). Through all of this I hope I get to meet some new people, make a new friend or two, and just get to engage with others who love the world of reading as much as I do.

With that, I’ll sign off for now. Happy reading my darlin’s!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started